Determining if an HMI globe is shot.

Hi all,

I have little knowledge in the realm of HMI lighting and I am trying to figure out if the globe in my Joker 800 is toast or if it is something in the ballast. My gut is that it is the globe, even though it is relatively low hours. However it is a rental and though I know most of the renters it is possible that something happened. Basically it just won't re-strike, the ballast seems to be doing its job, the globe is just not taking it. I really don't know what to look for in a bad HMI globe. Can anyone help me out? I could probably post a photo if need be.

Couple other things, the light was purchased in September of 06, 300 hours at most. I did get it back from a rental once and it was damp, though I dried it out well and it worked fine.

K5600 has a pretty good rep, I really don't think its the ballast.

Any info would be great, thanks a lot!

Phil

Hey,

so, do you here the ignition pulse when you hit the on button? Its the "shorted wire sound" right before the lamp goes on. If not then its either the lamp safety switch circuit or the ballast or the ignitor.

Other things to check:

re plug the ballast and head cable. With the lamp off, and with a pair of gloves check and make sure that the lamp is seated properly in its holder and that the connections are not carbonized (all black). DO NOT touch the glass of the lamp. If its a rental then bring the whole thing back and have it replaced. They will swap pieces until they can isolate the problem.

My bet is its the ballast. HMI lamps in general, unless the glass envelope is broken or puntured, usually don't just die. They get really crappy in color as they age but they are usually good for 4 or 500 hours. Some can be rated for 750.

Again, you said its a rental, just have it replaced. This is the safest thing to do.

Hey,