16mm documentary- music festival

Hi guys I'm going to be shooting this documentary about the World Electronic Music Festival in July. I was planning to shoot it on 16mm and found a good deal of some fuji 125 vivid stock. However, this festival is essentially a big rave and I wanted some advice from any of you who have shot rave parties before. Will 125 speed film suffice. I'm not too sure what else to ask but if any of you have some advice that you have gained from experience please share. Thanks alot.

• Premium Member

I'd go with the 500T myself, and shoot a test if you can. You've got an awful lot of variables going on. I would expect the 125 to be too slow for typical "night club" scenes (I have no experience with raves :) ). Strobe effects are a bit of a shot in the dark (pardon the pun), depending on the speed of the effect, since the strobe needs to fire when the shutter is open for you to even see it. You may get a little color shifting depending on the type of lights they use for the effects, but it may work in your favor. Again, try it if you can.

• Premium Member

This is an outdoor festival? I've shot some raves in Brasil that go all day and all night so you might want to take a couple of different stocks to use. So much is dependent on your stage setup/location.

This is an outdoor festival and it is supposed to go for three days straight. I bought some 64d and some 500t. So i guess il use as much 500t as i have on the night scenes and then shoot the rest during the day. It won't matter if the colours are a little strange at night because the night scenes are supposed to be more dancy and music videoish. The interviews should set nicely on 64d.

What were you shooting in Brazil? Is it on the internet anywhere?Also do you know of any other documentaries about raves and electronic music that actually have substance? Thanks.

• Premium Member