DVX 100A basic Q setup

Joe Black

Hi,

I just got my DVX 100A!!! I shot surfing footage with it Sat and Sun . The footage looks awesome to my eye. But I know it could be better. I only used the F5 setting with adjustments by ATW, manual IRIS, and shutter speed. And I know there's much more to it.

I have a general idea of what settings to use when shooting(shutter speed, iris...), but nothing set in stone for that perfect setup.

My background is editing and 3D animation. Aside from all my photography classes in college,

was wondering if there was any published literature (aside from the manual that came in the box) of recommended system settings & different types of setups in different lighting conditions? Or a general guide regarding setup in the DVX 100A. i.e. recommended settings for outside, indoor lit, low lit, etc...

Can't seem to find too much on it.

I guess I don't understand the question. Is basically what you're asking is for someone to tell you how to use your camera?

"Perfect setup" is normally achieved in post anyway.

FYI, in your manual there is a section on the three levels of gain you can setup and all, so it's not like panny has left us in the dark (no pun intended) as far as low light is concerned.

I guess I don't understand the question. Is basically what you're asking is for someone to tell you how to use your camera?

"Perfect setup" is normally achieved in post anyway.

FYI, in your manual there is a section on the three levels of gain you can setup and all, so it's not like panny has left us in the dark (no pun intended) as far as low light is concerned.

I found what I'm looking for. Barry Green made a DVD which shipped a couple weeks ago and included his 100page manual specificially for the DVX 100 cams.

http://www.dvxuser.com/articles/dvxbook/

Everyone who's ordered seems pretty happy with it. I just ordered it. I'll post a follow-up later.

Edited by Joe Black