begginer but starting with a giant leap

Ok Guys, I don't understand much about photography but I am an advertising and marketing graduate. I currently

work with both designing and marketing, and my work requires me to do some sort of video. I also plan to do

some feature short movies for myself. I want to start with a good equipment. I already found the right camera for me

by reading and watching some movies/tests on youtube

I'm going to start with the Canon 5DMarkII. I already know how to shoot manually a camera (still only), since i have a Nikon D50,

but usually I use the autofocus. I don't know how is going to be to start with a manual focus lens, I'm afraid

of getting confused at first, since this is my first time doing a video. What do you guys think?

I want to shoot some videos at my house with very view light, I was planning to do some kind of horror movie.

Another thing is my wife is a journalist and wants to do some shooting during the day of the city (Toronto), maybe do some video reporting

or some interview. My first priority is getting the lens for the dark place. I want to do some medium and close-up framing with maximum

dept of field.

My friend told me to buy either a carl zeiss or the cannon L series. What should I buy first? I have 1500 maximum for the first lens

Guest Trevor Swaim

Canon L series 24-70 f 2.8

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/559072-USA/Canon_8014A002_24_70mm_f_2_8L_USM_AF.html

and the Canon EF 50mm f1.8. It feels kinda cheap, but its pretty sharp and pretty fast. Build is not the greatest and the Bokeh is just Meh, but its only $100.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/12142-USA/Canon_2514A002_Normal_EF_50mm_f_1_8.html

Edited by Trevor Swaim