Kodak film specs

Shaun Joye

I'm currently a film student and have recently learned to desipher characteristic curves to calculate gamma, exposure range, etc. I was a little dissapointed to see that online the graphs for a lot of Kodak's motion picture film stocks lack detail and would be pretty hard to do any kind of calculations with. Does anyone know where I could get more detailed graphs from Kodak?

• Premium Member

The data in the on-line published data is not intended for scientific research, and has this disclaimer:

NOTICE: The data in this publication represent product tested under the conditions of exposure and processing specified. They are representative of production coatings, and therefore do not apply to a particular box or roll of photographic material. They do not represent standards or specifications that must be met by Eastman Kodak Company. The company reserves the right to change and improve product characteristics at any time.

Kodak will consider requests for more detailed data, when there is a business justification, and assurance that proprietary data will not be disclosed.

I may be misunderstanding something but by keeping this data hard to obtain it seems that kodak is doing a disservice to their customers. I mean if I want this technical data its because I'm interested in shooting Kodak stock and if Kodak's competitors want it they probably have the resources to get it themselves through testing. Am I missing something here?

• Premium Member

Sorry, but there are cases where too much detail can aid competitors. The information is detailed enough for customers to use, but not so detailed that someone could use it to develop competitive products (e.g., LUTs or color correction matrices).

• Premium Member