Flat base for Arri 2C

Patrick Seymour

Hi. I'm new to cinematography.com and would appreciate some help with a question:

I'm attaching photos of a flat base for an Arri 2C. This allows the motor to be mounted beside the camera rather than underneath. It looks as though it should be possible to attach support rods. I've seen various Arri support rods on eBay (LWS-2 etc) but they don't seem to have the right kind of connector to dock with the one on the flat base. What kind of support rods I should be looking for?

Any advice appreciated.

Patrick

Patrick Seymour

• Premium Member

Hi Patrick,

as far as I'm aware there was never anything officially made to attach rods to a 2C flat base.

Arri made a sort of shoe base for the 2C that extended out the front with a moveable lens support for use with heavy zooms, but nothing that fitted a flat base.

A very knowledgeable ex-cameraman who worked extensively with 2Cs told me that back in the day he had adapter plates made up to allow a 16mm bridge plate to be fitted to his flat base. A machine shop could easily whip one up if you could work out the required dimensions.

Hi Patrick,

as far as I'm aware there was never anything officially made to attach rods to a 2C flat base.

Arri made a sort of shoe base for the 2C that extended out the front with a moveable lens support for use with heavy zooms, but nothing that fitted a flat base.

A very knowledgeable ex-cameraman who worked extensively with 2Cs told me that back in the day he had adapter plates made up to allow a 16mm bridge plate to be fitted to his flat base. A machine shop could easily whip one up if you could work out the required dimensions.

Hi, Dom. Many thanks for your reply.