Cinema+Architecture

Giulio

Hello All,

I am an architecture student and as a research im my studio I am investigating how the cinematographic techniques can inform an architectural design process. I am analysing a movie (The Matrix) and making some diagrams which describe how the different technical devices are used to structure the movie and provide meaning of space within it.

Do you think there can be any relation between the DOF and the light density of the image on screen (expressed in a stepwedge bar 0% to 100%) ? How can I relate these two elements? Furthermore, is there also any relation btw the slow motion fx , the frame rate used to obtain it, and the "optical design" of the image (I mean again the dof and also the focal lenght used portraying different kind of perspective views).

Thank you for your help

Giulio

ps. here attached some still frame I am using to analyse the light density and which I'd like to relate to the dof and focus plane...

1) B&W Light Density Frame 2) relative colour Still Frame

post-4833-1109465874.jpg

post-4833-1109465893.jpg

Edited by Giulio

• Premium Member

I'm not exactly sure what you're asking, but I'll attempt an answer anyway.

Depth of field is the area in front of the lens where objects appear in focus. It's not the same thing as the illusion of depth, if that's how you're using the term.

In any case, depth of field is controlled by the aperture of the lens, the focal length of the lens, and the distance between the lens and the subject being focused. Light values within the frame really have nothing to do with the appearance of focus.