Pilot Tone from Nizo Pro/801M/561M

xoct

Oops, emitted is what I meant to type. Could you explain what it means to resolve audio? I'm kind of new at the sound side of things. Are there other recorders other than Nagras that will recieve pilotone?

First, a little background. Audio recording on a film shoot can be either single-system or double-system.

Single system means that audio is recorded on the same film reel as the image; either as an optical track (i.e. old 35mm newsreel cameras) or magnetic (Super 8 or 16mm "mag stripe" film, no longer made). Video camcorders are equivalent to single system film.

Double system, what you are planning to do, requires a separate audio recorder that runs either locked to the film speed (synchronized) or completely independently (wild sound). Prior to the era of crystal synchronized cameras and audio recorders, the camera and audio recorder would ensure audio sync by an audio tone communicated by wire from the camera to the audio deck, either 1 pulse per frame or a 60 Hz pilot tone generated at the camera. The audio deck would record this sync tone, either on a special purpose center track on a Nagra, or as an audio tone on any available 2-track audio deck.

Later, in post production, the audio tape is played back on a special variable speed tape recorder equipped with a resolver, a frequency sensing circuit that speeds up or slows down the playback tape to compensate for speed variations that occurred during recording. The result is an audio track that is frame-synchronized to the film. Traditional resolvers are hardware based electromechanical devices that result in a sprocketed full coat magnetic track; computer-based software can provide an equivalent synchronized track.