Interview lighting

Dear Filmmakers,

I am a student and will be doing a interview. I am using a home DV camera. The look I am going for is the background in cool night blue colors with a low wattage practicals in the bg as thouth it is a evening. I will be looking for a more warm look for the subject. I am thinking to use a 250 watt photoflood barndoored and hitting the subject so it doesnt spill into the bg and using a bastard amber gel. I will place it about 5 ft away from the subject.

I will use a 150 watt lamp behind a 4' by4' diffusion screen with a 1/2 CTB about 4 ft away for the fill.

The bg will tbe about 20 feet from the subject.

Please help me decide if I should have the bg leaning to the warm or cool side if I have practicals.

Tell me if I am using the correct wattage, gels, and diffusion for my fill light and key.

I really need help because lately I have been having problems with my fill light.

Is the fill the ambient light in the scene or should it just fill in the subjects shadows and should it hit the background or not?

Thank You very much in Advance

P.S. sorry for the long post.

• Premium Member