Return of the King film stock

Gary Mc Nally

Hiya, im studying film studies, and should be going off to Uni in Spetember to study film production. However, I need to complete my coursework first :o

I was wondering if anyone knew or could tell what film stock was used on Return of the king, and if they could tell me a rough guide as to its properties, wether its soft, or high contrast etc.

Thanks for any help in advance,

I hope this is in the right section.

Gary

Edited by Gary Mc Nally

• Premium Member
Hiya, im studying film studies, and should be going off to Uni in Spetember to study film production. However, I need to complete my coursework first :o

I was wondering if anyone knew or could tell what film stock was used on Return of the king, and if they could tell me a rough guide as to its properties, wether its soft, or high contrast etc.

Thanks for any help in advance,

I hope this is in the right section.

Gary

They used a mix of stocks, mostly 5293 (EXR 200T) on sets when they had enough light, otherwise 5279 (Vision 500T.) Outdoors, I'm not sure -- they did a little stuff with 5245 (EXR 50D), but I think that was mostly just helicopter shots. Maybe some 5248 (EXR 100T) and 5293.

Guest Daniel J. Ashley-Smith

Forgive me if I am wrong but I *heard* that they used older, softer stocks, to get a *softfocus* like effect to pretty things. But don't go screwing your coursework up with that, it might not be true, it's only from what I've heard.

Edited by Daniel J. Ashley-Smith

• Premium Member
Forgive me if I am wrong but I *heard* that they used older, softer stocks, to get a *softfocus* like effect to pretty things. But don't go screwing your coursework up with that, it might not be true, it's only from what I've heard.