Unloading my 16mm camera

Theo Koskoff

Hey I have a Bolex H16 Reflex camera and when I'm done shooting a roll of course it ends up on the take-up spool. When I get it processed, do I just send in the take-up spool or do I have to get it back on the daylight spool somehow? If it's the former, what do I use for the take-up spool from now on? If it's the latter, how do I get it on the daylight spool? This is probably an incredibly obvious answer as there's nothing about it in the manuals, but I'm new to this. Thanks!

You use a second, empty daylight spool as the takeup reel. You send that to the lab in a light proof container, like the black plastic one the film came in (and it's a good idea to tape the lid closed). Every time you finish a roll, the now empty daylight spool from the feed side becomes the takeup spool for the next roll. If you want to short-end something (i.e. shoot 50' of your 100' roll, and save the other 50'), you'll need extra empty spools and light proof containers. Depending on where you live, you might be able to get that stuff at your local lab.

• Upvote 2

Also, just a tip, daylight spools are great because you can load and unload them without a darkroom or changing bag, obviously. But just remember, when you're unloading in the light you will flash the outside few feet of film / the last few seconds on the roll. Not usually a big deal, but if you do unload the film in the dark, you'll be able to keep those images.

The Kodak stocks on 100ft daylight spools used to be wound using an oscillating motion where the film was moving from left to right to leave no gap between the film and the flanges of the spool. There also used to be (on the negatives) an additional layer in the emulsion that protected against light-piping.