Total Newbie Super 8 Run Down/Walk Through Please

J. Cash

I've watched many videos and looked over but just getting into Super 8 and a walk through of process by someone who does it would be great.

1. Just want to hobby shoot Super 8 and looking at a Bell & Howell Filmosonic XL 1235 and a Canon 814, which would be better?

2. Can the ebay deadstock film work and what kind would be good? Prefer color.

3. Anywhere in Orlando area that I can then take Super 8 to be developed, or where do you send yours to get sent back in a digital form.

Thank you very much.

Edited by J. Cash

Welcome to the party Cash!

1.) The Canon 814 is a FAR superior camera to the B&H. The Canon 814 AutoZoom and/or XL-S have some of the best optics of any Super 8 camera. (Only the rare cameras with interchangeable lenses are better). And, they will both meter up to at least 250ASA. The B&H will only meter up to 160. If you are using 500T indoors the one-stop over exposure by metering at 250 will actually help you early on until you get more comfortable with using external/manual light meters, etc.

2.) It can work, but you will probably have better luck just buying new/fresh stock. So long as you want to work with digital files and have no interest in projection you can shoot Super 8 negative color film which is much easier to get right than either color or B&W reversal (projection) films. Pro8mm has some excellent processing and stock options. (All their socks include pressing. See www.pro8mm.com). I would at least start with fresh stock from them or Spectra Film and Video until you get comfortable working with film and have fully tested your camera. If you get "deadstock" from eBay and you have bad results you'll never be sure if it was the film or camera.