Ideal Cameras For A New Film School??

Hello Everyone,

Great site and a very informative forum indeed!

We are in the process of setting up, what may be the largest film school in Asia. As HD is now gaining world wide popularity and acceptance, we are looking at the possibility of equipping the school with the Sony HDV (Z1) Camera's (for 1st. Year Students) and then moving them upwards to either a Sony Cine Alta, Varicam or a Viper (for the 2nd. Year Students).

However, since the cameras are an expensive investment, any thoughts on what we should be careful about before making this investment and what peripheral gear would be needed additionally to make things work smoothly, would be highly appreciated.

Finally, your recommedations on the best choice between the Varicam, Cine Alta and / or Viper (for use by students), would be helpful to us as well...

Thanks in advance.

Enjay.

• Premium Member

Hi,

After I studied 2 years in Louis Loumiere school and worked for 15 years as an AC and operator (in film and video), I've been teaching for 6 years now in both video and film schools.

I am not sure such a system as HD electronic cinema is much worth buying and owning for a schooL

Do you plan to have some productions sold/screened on a big screen ? that's the major question one should ask himself on this subject.

Honestly schools don't do that often enough so it's worth owning such a system. Also, for what is about the peculiar technics of HD cinema, renting is widly the best solution.

Most of your program, I guess, will be your students to learn, practise and posess the basics of directing, lighting, camera operating, editing etc. Most of their productions won't be sold.

You should consider shooting film for the high quality productions you may plan to set up and, again, renting is still a good position , though ownig some 16 mm, S 16 and 35 mm cameras seems to me a much better idea than buying and owning a HD camera, whatever mark and model.