Arriflex 35 BL3

Guest Mirka Miladz

Guest Mirka Miladz

Hi,

I'll be operating an Arriflex 35 BL3 on a 90-minute color feature to be shot next summer within a 20-day schedule or so. Some handheld, mostly not. Probably a zoom lens, likely a Cooke Mark III 25-250mm.

Anyways, I was wondering whether there are any special considerations or peculiarities or whatnot I should be aware of, as I have no prior experience with a BL3 (and little with 35mm anyway, for that matter)?

Cheers,

Mirka :unsure:

If you're shooting handheld on a BL3 with a 25-250, my first suggestion is to eat your Wheaties! That's a big heavy camera and you should not seriously consider handholding with the zoom. It will make it terribly front-heavy with the zoom even if you put on the 1000' mag. And if you did decide to go with that combination you're looking at something like 50-60 pounds on your shoulder! Much better to get a bunch of 400' mags, prime lenses and a clip on mattebox for handheld work. You'll never survive the shoot otherwise.

Guest Mirka Miladz

Yeah, a valid point indeed.. thanks. :) I may wanna bring this up with someone in the production.. Anything else, anyone? I probably won't be able to test-drive a BL3 until just before the production, so any hands-on information is much appreciated.

Hi-

It's really more important that your AC knows the camera inside and out. If he or she isn't on intimate terms with the BL-3, he/she should get down to the rental house and learn it. There's also a great Jon Fauer book- "The Arri 35 Book" that contains a wealth of info about BL-1's, 2's, 3's and 4's. It's worth digging through it to familiarize yourself with the pieces.

Another thing about handholding, and it's probably very obvious, but get the arri shoulder pad- I HH'd for part of an evening with a folded towel over my shoulder- ouch. Those cameras seem to have hard edges in all the wrong places.

good luck!