Trouble with Capturing from the Pan AG-DVX1000A

EddieLooper

Hello all,

Ok, this may be a long thread, but please read because we could use the help.

The company I work for recently performed a green screen shoot for use in a few projects. Our photography looks great, but our problem is with the cinematography. We have a Panasonic AG-DVX100A, which I hear is a "top-of-the-line" camera (I don't know much about all of this, thats just what I heard, I am somewhat new to this whole field). The problem is that our video just does not seem as exceptional as it should be with this camera. It's also not just the green screen, we have used it before and it does not really look all that impressive, but good enough. Now we actually need it to look awesome so we can do some keying. We are capturing it through Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 using a fire-wire straight form the camera into the computer. We tried both 24p and 30p, and captured at 30 fps. With all this our video still just does not look as it should. If anyone out there knows the best way to capture or knows what we are doing wrong, please let me know, it will be much appreciated. Have a great day and God Bless.

Eddie Looper

• Premium Member

Hello,

The first thing for me to check is the subjectiveness of your thought that your video "does not seem as exceptional as it should be with this camera". Of course if your pictures are covered in lines, zits etc etc, then there is a fault or some workflow problem.

But assuming the images are technically "fine" but not to your liking, or at least not up to the standard you were expecting, then we need to think about what you can expect from this camera.