Need advice in buying a reliable 16mm camera.

Guest Knight of Rueful Countenace

Hello all, I'm new to the whole camera aspect of film and would appreciate some expertly advice on which camera to start with.

I've had my eyes sent these two options but i am not technically informed on whether they are reliable for such a price.

Both cameras appear in good functioning condition but vary in items.

If anyone could share their thoughts on these selections or may recommend me a more suited camera i would deeply appreciate it. I am willing to spend up 3000 dollars on a good camera package.

arriflex 16s

bolex h16

Man you just missed it. Somebody sold a CP-16R with lens on eBay for $430. I could kick myself for not bidding on it, expecting it to go over a grand.

Both the Bolex and Arri cameras you listed are MOS cameras, solid and reliable but noisy. The Arri camera has the edge in that it has a registration pin where most other MOS 16mm cameras don't. The Bolex is a springwound mechanical camera, the Arri has an electric motor. Neither provide an exact 24fps sound speed unless specifically added. The Arri will cost you about twice as much as the Bolex for the equivalent gear. The Bolex takes C mount lenses, Arri takes Arri mount lenses.

Man you just missed it. Somebody sold a CP-16R with lens on eBay for $430. I could kick myself for not bidding on it, expecting it to go over a grand.

Both the Bolex and Arri cameras you listed are MOS cameras, solid and reliable but noisy. The Arri camera has the edge in that it has a registration pin where most other MOS 16mm cameras don't. The Bolex is a springwound mechanical camera, the Arri has an electric motor. Neither provide an exact 24fps sound speed unless specifically added. The Arri will cost you about twice as much as the Bolex for the equivalent gear. The Bolex takes C mount lenses, Arri takes Arri mount lenses.

Thanks Robert.