Gearing Up

Aaron Haedt

Hi,

I am currently putting together a camera system using a DVX100a.

My basic philosophy has been, since I'm going to spend thousands of dollars, I might as well do it right. I don't want to sacrafice quality over a cheaper price. But then again I don't want to over pay for something when I don't have to.

I plan on taking cinematography workshops within the next couple weeks. I'm sure these will help answer some questions I have now. Between now and then, I want to hear from people who have hands on experience. The following are items I am researching or have decided to already get. Forgive me if I sound like an idiot. I'm new at this.

FILTERS- I want good PL, FL, ND and UV filters. Should i spend the extra cash and high resolution ones or will the basic ones work just as well? Professional grade? Normal Grade? What should I look for?

LIGHTS-I'm still in the process of looking at various lighting equip. I have no idea what i want right now.

MATTEBOX- I plan on getting a Chroszeil 411-53. I've researched the hell out of this thing and found that as much as I hate spending 1500 on the thing, that it would be a good investment.

LENSES- God, i've looked at and read about so many. Pros and cons of Anamorphic, Wide Angle, Tele Photo, etc. Laser cut, diamond cut. Titanium? These are the items that i need the most advice on.

MIKES-I plan on having a couple wireless lavaliers and a boom kit. Are lavaliers worth their price? Should I not bother with lavaliers and just concentrate of the boom?

These are the main objects that don't want to skimp on. There are many other odds and ends that will be purchasing down the road, but the above mentioned items are first and foremost.

I realize that many of these questions have variable answers. Much of it depends on what i want to shoot and how I plan on using the camera.

Any advice and opinions would be appreciated.

~aaron

• Premium Member

I was much in the same boat when I got my DVX100a package.