what kind of cameras do you use

rachel

:rolleyes: :D :blink: HEY, IM A HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT AND I WOULD LIKE TO GET SOME INFO FOR A REPORT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT TYPES OF CAMERAS YOU USE WHEN YOU FILM. OR ANYTHING THAT MIGHT HELP, I REALLY APRECIATE IT. THANKS!!

RACHEL :D :D :P :rolleyes:

• Premium Member

Depends what I need to do.

My general camera of choice is a Panaflex GII. It is simple, and reliable. If one needs more specialized functions/ lighter weight I would choose the Millennium XL.

I have also worked with, and like the Moviecam compacts.

This is for 35mm projects.

For HD my preference is a Panavised F900.

For MiniDV I like the SDX900 and the DVX100.

Kevin Zanit

I am also a poor college student, but have actually gotten to use some pretty nice gear in the past year and a half, having some pretty good connections. I have used an Arri SR 2.9 and an SR 3 (both Super 16mm cameras). Also, I used an Aaton A-Minima (super 16/16), a Bealieau 5008 (super 8), Bolex RX4 and RX5's (regular 16mm MOS cameras), Arri BL hunk of junk, and I even got to do some tests on my boss's MOVIECAM SUPER AMERICA MARK III GOLD (which is for 35) ...he says that he needs some better glass for it, though. I really want to try the Aaton XtRPro (or whatever it's called.... heard on this forum that its better than the Arri SR 3, which I absolutely loved when I tried it) and I'd like to check out what the the Arriflex 535's can do and eventually when I get to work on a big production....Panavision.

I've worked in many formats with many cameras. Here's off the top of my head, and I'm sure I'm forgetting some.

Formats:

Double-8, Super-8, 16mm, Super-16, 35mm, Super-35, Anamorphic-35, Phillips open reel video, VHS, Beta-1, 3/4", Video-8, Hi-8, SVHS, Betacam, Beta SP,Mini-DV, M-II, Beta-SX, DVCPro50, DigiBeta, DVCProHD, HDCam.

I can't even begin to count the cameras. Probably at least fifty different models over the years.