Crystal Sync Motor Schematics

I'm doing some research on crystal sync motors and was hoping someone might have information and schematics. Anything would be helpful. I'm studying how they work from a component/electrical perspective. I'm fairly new to electronics so any techinical and schematic information would be really helpful.

Thanks so much.

Guest beanpat
I'm doing some research on crystal sync motors and was hoping someone might have information and schematics. Anything would be helpful. I'm studying how they work from a component/electrical perspective. I'm fairly new to electronics so any techinical and schematic information would be really helpful.

Thanks so much.

Hi,

I'm an electronics hobbyist myself. I too have pondered the same project for my arri-s. if you do a web search for motor controller chips you'll find that the manufacturer will have example schematics or test circuits for their chips and provides at least a good starting point. also check out the new brushless motors used in R/C planes and cars at a hobby store. you can get a really nice ball bearing brushless motor and 3 phase controller for $60 or so. they seem like an excellent candidate to run a camera. they are also much more quiet than brush motors. the cool thing about the brushless 3 phase motors is that you do not need a feedback signal from the motor. the speed can be precisely controlled just by the frequency of the ac going to the motor.

Thanks,

I had been looking into the brushless DC motors and those piqued my interest. The thing I'm still trying to get around in my head is speed control of the camera, in achieving the proper frame rate and it maintaining. I was looking into feedback circuits. However still doesn't answer how I'll know that it's turning the camera at the proper frame rate.

Thanks,