Cameras used to shoot hollywood movies.

solid snake

Does anyone know Im very new to this and dont know alot. I shoot with my camcoder but I was wondering how to get the "movie" look. Is it the camera or the lighting and cenimatography that gives the movie the "look"??

What are some cheap cameras that will give me results similar to movies like fight club, kill bill etc.

Sorry to be such a newbie but I want to start shooting short films with no characters, just scenery and camera movements. Help will be aprreciated.

Well if you want the atmosphere from the scenes in your favorite movies, then

you should work on your lighting.

But if you just want just the look of the image then you won't get far.

You can copy the lighting and certain postproduction "looks" added to the image.

But with film, even unlit, raw shots have the film look.

If you take your film camera on the street and shoot around hendheld

like you can do with your cheap camcorder, the image will still look

very different, because 50% of the film look is in the actual medium itself.

• Premium Member

Hi,

As our correspondent said, it isn't entirely about the camera - it's about a large crew and a lot of lighting gear. However, one of the best things about shooting film is that you can buy a relatively cheap old film camera (sub-$1000, if you don't want to record sound alongside it) and stick modern stock in it, and theoretically get technically very similar results.

However, that won't necessarily make it look like "Fight Club" unless you put a similar amount of effort into production design and lighting, which is much more expensive than the camera!

And for the record, I don't think it would be impossible to imagine circumstances where a completely built-up motion picture camera outfit might be worth over a million.

Phil