Using light meters

jon lawrence

Hi, I'm new to filming with super8 and I have a few questions about light meters. I have used one before in a photography studio and was wondering if it is the same as using it with film. Is it as simple as holding the light meter by your subject pointing at your key light source, taking a reading, then setting the aperture on the camera? Or is there more to it when using super8?

Also can anyone recommend a good light meter which isn?t too expensive (I?m thinking around £100?)

Any help would be much appreciated.

If your using a S8 camera, I assume it is not a reflex camera, but one that utilizes a light-splitting prism. If so you must understand that that will affect your ISO setting on your light meter. Internal meters in your S8 meter after the prism (or if not, they are built to compensate) so its no concern there, but your handheld doesn't know if you have a shutter or a prism, clear lens or a filter attached, so be sure you compensate for everything. Also you will have to make sure your meter is set to the proper frame rate. 18 or 24 fps depending on how you have your camera set.