raising money for a film

I have limited knowledge of the producing side of film. When it comes to preparation and paying attention to detail I pretty much got it down. But my biggest concern, probably everyone is this business, is how to get the money to fund/make this film. How should I go about raising money. People tell me that "the producers [investors] follow a good idea/concept.. a good story." I got a story that seems to get good feedback from different people. How would I go about getting funds/help from professionals?

thanks for reading!

--Natalie

Are you talking about a feature film?

It appears you are a still a student and few if any producing professionals will invest in young un-proven talent. If you only need $20,000.00 you might find a partner, if you need $500,000.00, that is a different story. Some one would have to be either so rich they did not care about their 500k and like you a lot, or very sure that they will earn a return on their 500k vs just leaving it in the bank and collecting guaranteed interest.

The most important thing any director has when it comes to acquiring financing is their track record. No track record? Tough to find investors.

Many first time filmmakers find financing from outside of the film business from people that have money to invest. Experienced film producers know what to look for in a project, people outside of the film biz usually do not. I'm not saying you should rip off a doctor or dentist, I'm just saying they may be more approachable and open to your ideas as a newcomer.

If you're talking to producers just having a script is rarely enough, you need to bring an entire package to the table. If you can show people that you have the locations, actors, and crew, and all they have to do is write the cheque. It's much better than just shopping your script around town, as there are literally thousands of people doing this. And I mean thousands!!