Affordable Lighting kit

:huh: Hello

I'm a young visual effects artist (compositor), and I'm used to lighting CG scenes and stuff like that... but I want to work on a real set now, lighting is smtg that always intrigued me... its fascinating... So one of my friends, who's a director, wants me to photograph his next short (independant), I feel very lucky... hope I dont screw up...

I started shopping for some.. lighting equiment... lol... It's not my money so Im being very cautious..

Why is it soo expensive ?? I dont get it... are the light bulbs made out of diamonds or smtg ? :blink:

Is there.. anything affordable out there ?

Thanks...

Ben

I guess it depends on what you consider affordable.

Lowell offers a bunch of relatively inexpensive and portable light kits (inexpensive at least in comparison, say, to Arri kits).

Cheaper still are the open-face tungsten Britek lights offered at www.rostronics.com.

They're not nearly as robust as pricier lights like the Arris, and aren't fresnels, thus don't offer quite the focusability and control, but for the price, they're quite capable, plus the light casing (made of "space-age plastics") doesn't heat up nearly as much as the metal casing of most lights.

I bought and used a set of two 650w Britek lights with softboxes for a recent shoot (cost for the package: $365) and was quite pleased with their performance, though I used the lights more to supplement my DP's Arri kit than as the sole source of lighting.

Since I've only owned the lights for several weeks, I can't comment about their robustness or the robustness of the accessories (softboxes and stands), but they seem soldily constructed enough to last, given the proper treatment.

You can read more info and opinions on the Briteks at the "lighting" forum at www.dvxuser.com.

Here are some links to the rostronics pages:

Rostronics film/video lighting kits:

http://www.rostronics.com/products.asp?cat=13

Individual lights: