In Camera Bleach By-pass?

BigT[NZ]

Hi guys, (im not too sure if this is in the correct forum)

Im a film student in New Zealand and i am D.P.ing another students short film.

Its a zombie horror and it will all be shot at night on Kodak 500T, there is some outside scenes, but most of it is indoors with low lighting.

He has said that he wants the colours to look washed out and weak. He wants it to be contrasty as well. (I suggested a bleach by pass but ha said he doesnt have enough money).

Could you guys give me any tips or ideas on what i should be doing do get this effect? Would it be easier and just as effective to do it in post? As far as i know the film is getting proffessionally telecine'd so they could do it in the lab. But because this is a learning experience i would like to have a crack at doing something like this in camera.

Oh also, could anyone give me some info on the stock? (Kodak Vision 500T) like the latitude etc? sorry for the ignorant questions but im learning.

Any help or tips would be great.

Thanks

Tim

• Premium Member

It's a pretty simple post effect to simulate: lower the chroma levels overall, crush the blacks, make the highlights hotter. I'd shoot a test and sit in with the colorist as it gets transferred to tape, create the look you want, and then ask the colorist to match that for all the video dailies. Or if this is a short film, supervise the telecine transfer of all the footage.

For my video dailies on "Northfork" (where I used a skip-bleach for the final prints) I had a sign that I shot at the head of all my rolls:

NOTE TO COLORIST:

CREATE SKIP-BLEACH PRINT LOOK

(1) LOWER CHROMA (COLOR)

(2) INCREASE CONTRAST

(3) CRUSH THE BLACKS

It was partially successful...