HD and editing systems

Natalie Saito

many "consumer HD" cameras (i.e. hvx200, xlh1) are supported by avid/apple-friendly editing systems. im pretty new to editing (learning avid currently). i own adobe premiere and i was wondering if i could edit my HD footage on it. what is the hard drive space req. for HD?

thanks a bunch all!! -Natalie

Edited by NSaito

• Premium Member

Premiere should have an HDV preset. HDV is compressed to have a similar data rate to DV. DV will give you around 1hr. per 13Gb, so you should be in that neighborhood. Best of luck.

• Premium Member

Hi,

You need to be a little bit careful about this.

HDV footage, as shot by the XLH1, JVC HD100 series, etc, is certainly cuttable on Premiere.

The Panasonic HVX-200 uses the P2 flash memory recording system, which is completely different. I have had some very bad experiences with P2 in the past - it seems to work very well if and only if you happen to be using one of the programs which has been specifically designed to support it. I am not aware that there is a P2 solution for Premiere - not that I'm saying there definitely isn't, but you should check before shooting a load of stuff.

Phil

• Premium Member

The Panasonic HVX-200 utilizes DVCPro HD (in high-def mode). If you're working in that particular format, I believe Premiere would require additional hardware, whereas FCP and Avid offer native presets. (If you're working with HDV, any of the above should be able to handle it in their latest versions, without special hardware.)

• Premium Member

Hi,

The problem is not just that it's DVCPRO-HD - it's DVCPRO-HD in several different MXF files distributed all over a PCMCIA card that takes special software to read.

They've very carefully made it about as cumbersome and difficult as possible.

Phil

HDV footage, as shot by the XLH1, JVC HD100 series, etc, is certainly cuttable on Premiere.