shooting in 16mm

Hi,

I will shoot a film in 16mm soon and with an old Bolex camera. As everything is outside i think i will use the 7205 but we don't have enough money to make some test... Moreover, this is my first short in 16mm, i have always shooted in digital. But film is very exciting.

For the grain i think i'll overexpose by 1/2 stop but the thing is that i want a kind of "melancholic" style for this short. My reference is Days of Heaven (knowing i won't have something as good as the third of this film). I like Eyes Wide Shut too and know that Kubrick pushed the film by 2 stop but do you know if he had really shoot close to 1600 asa? 1200? Less?

But i want rich colours and a little bit washed out. I'll always remember the shots of the Malick's film with this very little light, rich blacks and these warm tones... it looks like a Rembradt paintaing...

Anyway, could somebody help me cause i have no experience with film and i would like to know how i have to process the film to have this kind of look.

Thanks a lot,

Anthony

• 2 weeks later...

First of all, I'd like to say that, with the exception of some documentary shoots I've done, I've never shot anything but film.

Second, if you don't have the money to shoot a test, don't waste any money at all shooting film. You'll need to do some sort of tests for the camera and for the lenses and for the exposure, or you could ruin your entire shoot. Be a pro, save up some money, buy 50 ft. of the stuff, and shoot a test.

I'm not trying to rain on your parade and say you don't have enough money to shoot film, but I am saying that the heartbreak of shooting an entire film only to find your OCN is ruined is going to be a hard way to learn the absolute necessity of testing all lenses, equipment, camera bodies, and stocks before spending lots of money on a film. The negative is the heart of your film, you don't have a film without a good one.