First Showreel

Kirsty Stark

I am a student Cinematographer and have just created my first showreel, which goes for approx. 1 minute and shows a range of my work from four short films I shot this year (a mixture of super 16mm film and HDV; drama and documentary). You can view it on my website:

http://www.kirstystark.com

I would love to hear any feedback about how I could improve, as I know it still needs work.

Are there any shots you wouldn't include?

One shot has text over it, as this was included in the final documentary. Should I leave this in the reel, or return to the master tape and use the original footage?

Thanks for your help!

I think you have some nice work on your reel. The B&W footage looks great. As far as the text goes, I think I would go with the original footage. Im not sure how I feel about the shot with the guys dancing - don't know if you should hold it longer or loose it all together. Im also a cinematographer student so you may want to see what other people have to say. Good work though.

Thanks Jimmie,

I appreciate you taking the time to look at my reel and comment. I think you're right about the text - it doesn't really have any relevance to the footage when taken out of context, and detracts from the image a bit.

I had a look at your work as well - you have some nice shots!

Hello Kirsty!

You have some very nice shots in your reel.

I would defenitely take out the text. This reel is about your work, your images and the text does not make them stronger, in contrary its destracting.

Also I would love to see more of those timelaps shots, those are great.