s16-HD Telecine Options

David Regan

• Premium Member

I know this topic has been discussed before, and searching for it led to some clarity but I still have some questions, also prompted from what I read in people's replys.

I am about to start shooting a film super16, and we want get a 1080p transfer, first to tape and then it will be put on a hard drive. However due to costs concerns, getting all our raw footage transfered to HD was too pricy, so we are getting the raw footage on miniDV, then sending the EDL to the lab and getting the cut transfered to HD and the drive.

I have never done this workflow before, and to be honest am somewhat daunted by the entire post-production/lab workflow, as I am not extremely experienced with it. So my first question is, what frame rate should I get it transfered at? Is there a difference between 24p and 23.98PsF? I noticed on another thread the terms were used interchangably, so should I specify one over the other?

What about Timecode, when sending out an EDL, is there any specifics I need to inform the lab of to ensure the sound syncs up, i.e. drop frame vs. non drop-frame TC?

And finally as far as workflow is concerned, can all post sound work/color correction etc be held until after the final transfer to HD? Because really we are just getting our final cut back as a file on a hard-drive.

I know these are probably fairly large questions about a very broad topic, but I'm just trying to chisel away a bit more at my understanding of the post-production process and workflow. Thanks for the help.

Bonolabs will transfer 16 to HD on a Hard Drive for around $12 per minute of run-time. This means for a 100 minute feature, your looking at $1,200.00 + the cost of Setup, Prep and cleaning and your Hard Drive rental. Click here http://www.bonolabs.com/p_list_tapeless.pdf for the entire price list.

Edited by Landon D. Parks

• Premium Member