Is this a proper Post Production step?

Landon D. Parks

Ok, Now I have never worked with 35mm before, so this question may seem dumb to those of you who work around this all the time. but:

Is this a logical way to shoot 35mm? (If you have the funds to do it this way):

1. Scan the Finnished footages @ low resolution to edit on Avid

2. Generate EDL

3. Cut Negative from EDL

4. Scan final cut @ High Quallity into the Avid

5. Put together the actual cuts in the avid

6. Do Digital Titles, Fade effects, CG, ect.

7. Color correct in Devinci

8. Blow-out to Film again.

I know this is not the cheapest way, but still im wondering if it would work? Seems like I recall Kodak's site saying this is how they shot the film "Peter Pan" (2004 version).

• Premium Member

Hi,

You have the sequence of events essentially correct, but there are some specifics you're missing. You don't usually cut the negative if you're doing digital intermediate; instead, the EDL from the offline cut is used to control the scanner, which scans only the frames you need (plus handles for safety and to allow for adjustment in the online) from the lab rolls.

Assuming there are no special effects beyond dissolves, the actual assembly of all these huge directories of frames can generally be done by the colour corrector, certainly Baselight will do this. They simply read the same EDL the scanner had and go look for the frames as they need them, exactly like the way FCP or Premiere has a directory full of quicktime movies and assembles the timeline from them according to the project file.