Please help asap! Need some facts!!

I just finished a long day on a 35mm short set, and in a complete fluke dropped two 500' cans of exposed negative from about waist height onto concrete. The cans look alright, and they were sealed with tape already. Should I be worrying my ass off like I am right now?

• Premium Member

Make sure to tell the lab what happened before they process the film. If there is damage they may be able to find it before they run it through the bath and screw something up.

I'm no expert in this arena, but I've heard this advice given before in similar situations. If you haven't already, you should tell the 1st A.C. and DP what happened.

• Premium Member

Ask the lab to check for sparks on the neg. Not sure what it is called, but if I translate from German it should mean something close to 'pressure exposure'. Basically if a filmcan hits the ground, the resulting pressure can cause accidental exposure on film. On a film I once worked the camera truck was in a bad accident and we had to return all the unexposed filmstock.

Max, this is exposed film, so obviously nothing can be done to alleviate this problem. If you drop a can off of a high-rise building, you might get sparks, or wreck a car and flip it three times with film flying out the window on the Interstate Highway.

Otherwise, you're fine! Stop worrying! :-)