Panasonic HD-900 - 60p

Bill Paul

Hey guys,

Just shot with the $50,000 HDX-900. I am the director on this shoot not the cinematographer. And I have VERY LITTLE HD experience so I relied on my D.P. to shoot this correctly. I wanted a filmic look. We just didn't have the budget for film.

My D.P. told me that he was going to shoot this at 60p. And that it will "look great."

It looks like ass. It's crunchier than COURT TV. What do I do??? Why the heck didn't he shoot this at 24p. Now that it's at the editor and I see what I'm working with I'm freaked out!!! Can this be fixed? I mean I shot with a three thousand dollar 24p panasonic consumer camera on 24p and the footage looked WAY better than the crap we shot last week. HELP! Is there software I can use to fix this? Can I take it into flame? Do some crummy 3-2 pulldown? Or did he just totally screw the pooch by shooting this at 60p?

Thanks,

• Premium Member

The HDX-900 of course shoots 24, 30 and 60p, and provides great results at all those frame rates. If you want the 24P look, you'll have to conform back to 24P...how you do that will depend on the edit platform you're using.

If using FCP, you may want to explore the DVCPROHD Frame Rate Converter Tool (in the TOOLS Menu) or Cinema Tools.

J

Yeah, you will be able to change the frame rate somewhat easily. But you may have problems as to how it was lit and shot, which cannot be fixed very easily. Never underestimate the value of a good DP. Most people shoot 60p for slo mo / effects shots, I wonder what he was thinking.

Good luck.

Edited by Saul Rodgar

• Premium Member

You're sure this has actually been shot at 60, not 24 wrapped into 60?