Shooting Reverses

I'm still pretty new to shooting for other people. A lot of my experience has been shooting my own stuff, and I design my shots with the 180 degree rule in mind. This weekend I'm shooting a short where most of the action is in a corner booth of a diner and to get good coverage of the waitress, we need to shoot reverses from the other side of the table. Any advice on doing this in a way that's least visibly disruptive (i.e. not too blatantly rearranging the position of actors on screen)?

• Premium Member

When you introduce a third character, you are establishing a new line, so don't think of yourself necessarily breaking the 180 degree rule by turning around to look at the waitress. You could cross the table directly, or have a couple separate lines of action for each person at the booth. i.e. when the waitress asks one person what they want, be in a OTS of the person at the booth looking at the waitress, and when she turns to the other, have an OTS from that person. Generally speaking, I feel if you establish your space well, when you do turn around the audience will still understand where we are. And assuming you have to cheat your table out to get the camera in these positions, you really can get away with a foot or two, as long as your careful.

• Premium Member

180 rule is an old school directorial rule. It is a holdover from the studio days, before television. Hollywood had unspoken standards designed to avoid viewer disruption. There were quite a lot of these "rules" (better referred to as "rules of thumb"). The 180 rule does get broken. I can't pull any examples off the top of my head. But, my list-of-rules-radar goes off pretty often on this one.