HEEEEEEELP!

Sean Elder

Hello all! I've been trolling through these forums for a few months gleaning all sorts of info and great tips, tricks, and techniques. I am an aspiring editor who wants to gain motion graphics and colorist skills. I have read through a few forums about the plus and minus sides of going to a film school, but one thing that I have to ask is how does going to school to gain the aforementioned skills help after you graduate? Yes I am currently enrolled in a digital film school. I know that this is a forum for jobs and the like, but that's my question in a drawn out sort of manner. How does one obtain a position as an editor in the industry. I've worked in other areas of video/film production, but have yet to gain any help in becoming an editor, just a better understanding of the production process which is awesome! Can anyone give me any insight on what I could do?

There is a bunch of information here but it is a cinematography based website.

Do you know about motionographer.com - that is the gateway to the motion design world.

An editor, motion graphics artist and colorist are three different jobs as you probably know.

It is good to have knowledge and some experience with all of them if you want to be an editor.

You can gain motion design knowledge through books, school and people you meet in the industry.

You will learn much about color management in a motion graphics or editorial degree.

What kind of editorial you want to do. Commercials? Features?

Search out all the good editorial houses and individuals who's work you respect.

Once you feel like you have a good amount of knowledge about editorial start looking for the assistant editor job with these companies and individuals.

Hi Sean,