The cinematography of Die Another Day

Guest Roger Adams

Guest Roger Adams

Hey people, this is my first time posting here. From the looks of things, you guys seem to be a tight knit intelligent group here.

Anyways, I looked up bond movies on the search, and one said that DAD was 'uneven' in terms of its cinematography. I personally thought it was great. Then again I am not a professional.

Anyways, I looked up bond movies on the search, and one said that DAD was 'uneven' in terms of its cinematography. I personally thought it was great.

Roger, Welcome to the forum!

It's often best when asking a question in the forum that doesn't have a definitive 'yes' or 'no' answer, to explain your point of view in some detail. Otherwise the replies may seem argumentative. This is especially true when your question is basically "I like something. Why don't you like it?'

Please explain to us why you thought the cinematography of DAD was great.

Also, unless the old post you found is closed, you can reply directly to that message, even quote it directly, and you may get a reply directly from the person who posted the message you are referring to.

• Premium Member

I thought the cinematography was very polished, elegent, and flattering to the actors. I think one of the areas of debate is to whether it fits into the color noir look of the classic Bonds. But technically, I had no qualms about the movie -- I thought it looked great.

Probably my favorite Bonds for their noirish photographic quality are "Goldeneye", "Living Daylights", and "From Russia with Love." "Die Another Day" fits into more of that glamorous traveloque adventure look of the Roger Moore films like "The Spy Who Loved Me".

• Premium Member

I just don't see what's so wrong with the photography... I guess I don't have your eye!

That stuff ain't easy (giant sets, action, etc.) Perhaps the more I shoot, the more humble I get because it all looks prety daunting.