16mm Film Scanning

Bill DiPietra

• Premium Member

I am finishing a 16mm B&W film and have a few questions about film scanning. I am just beginning to learn about film scanning, so please excuse the ignorance.

On a garden-variety low-budget production, is ALL of the footage usually scanned in or is it just the final, conformed negative? If all of the footage is usually scanned, is it possible to just scan the conformed negative to save on cost?

Also, once the film is scanned, what are the different file formats that are used? Would I be able to do DVD authoring on my own (on a Mac) or would I need to take the file back to the lab for any and all output to video?

Finally, I am based in NYC and I am curious what the average going rates are for 16mm 2k film scanning.

As always, any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I am finishing a 16mm B&W film and have a few questions about film scanning. I am just beginning to learn about film scanning, so please excuse the ignorance.

On a garden-variety low-budget production, is ALL of the footage usually scanned in or is it just the final, conformed negative? If all of the footage is usually scanned, is it possible to just scan the conformed negative to save on cost?

Also, once the film is scanned, what are the different file formats that are used? Would I be able to do DVD authoring on my own (on a Mac) or would I need to take the file back to the lab for any and all output to video?

Finally, I am based in NYC and I am curious what the average going rates are for 16mm 2k film scanning.

As always, any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.