space/astronaut scene

matthew

Hi - I'm a cameraman/director with significant 35mm experience filming african wildlife. I've also got a reasonable knowledge of film lighting.

I've a problem in that I've got to create several studio scenes of modern astronauts in space orbit. These shots are basically of three types and I assume would be created though the use of blue screen work - with which I have not familiarity. The shots would have to look very realistic so at this stage of the procedings budget is not an issue - there for a feature.

- shots of astronauts in shuttle at shuttle launch (int)

- shots of astronauts in shuttle orbit looking out at Earth/Moon (int/ext)

- shots of astronauts undertaking space walk in Earth orbit (ext)

If any reader of this post has had experience in creating similar scenes then I'd love to hear from him/her. Any information/suggestions on ways of making this possible, realistic and authentic would be very gratefully received. As I have no experience in blue screen work can anyone suggest basic sources of information/articles on these techniques so that I can fully research and get a handle on the topic. I'm particularly interested in creating zero gravity effects - how to film my astronauts as if they were in space. In addition how digital effects might be used to supplement the studio/lighting set ups to create believeablity and authenticity. I can answer wildlife questions now or later! sincerely, Matt - serenget@dircon.co.uk

• Premium Member

Trying to simulate weightlessness is one fo the most tricky things to do in gravity. Most of it is done by flying people on cables and undercranking or having people stand on teeter-totters.

Apollo 13 was mostly shot using teeter-totters, i.e. a crane the actors can stand on so that they can bob up and down. They also went up in Nasa's "Vomit Comet" for some key scenes to get real weightlessness, but that's probably out of your budget range.