Lighting an overcast scene, help.

Chris Hurn

Hi everyone.

I am sorry for bothering you all with these silly questions, but since I am a high school student on a very low budget, I cannot afford to go out and do a lot of experimenting (rental costs) for this scene. So I am here to ask you all what you would do, before going and experimenting.

I am planning a short six minute film for a competition. I was originally going to shoot with a cheap 1 CCD DV camcorder, but I have now decided to hire a Panasonic AG-DVX100A. I understand part of getting the 'film' look is lighting.

The scene is set on an overcast day. Luckily, I found a picture to illustrate what I mean exactly. You can see it here: http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/Images/movies...stsamurai/5.jpg

The scene is not a happy one, so the 'foggy gray' color is what I'm after.

I understand I could use a gel, but which colour would I use to light the scene without making it look like it's lit, if you know what I mean. Let's pretend I was lighting the scene from the Last Samurai posted above. Roughly what equippment would you use and where would you place it? -- would I even use lights out in a scene like this? It doesn't really look like there's much here.

I saw another topic like this, but I didn't really understand what everyone was talking about. Exactly what do you do with a bounce card? Wouldn't a reflector be useless on a cloudy day, since there is no sun?

Thanks all,

-Chris

• Premium Member

No, a reflector or bounce board or whatever you call them are not useless on a cloudy day. Soft, refracted light is less directional but it's still light and can be reflected.

Negative fill is the "reflection of darkness", if you will. By putting up a black flag (or any black material) close to someone's face you'll se it'll subtract light from that side of the face.

These two reflectionionary tools combined are all the lights you need on an overcast day, really.