Vivitar 94P

Alyssa Duncan

Hello everyone! I'm a bit new to the whole filming thing and while I was at a second-hand store, I picked up an old circ. 1970s Vivitar 94P that runs on Super 8 film. Only problem is that there is no way to currently power it. The batter pack for the hand grip is missing, which means I can't charge it that way and the old DC charger has a sub-mini phono port, and I'd have no idea where to find one of those. Along with this, Vivitar is no help seeing as they switched owners in 2009 and didn't transfer information (As I was told by a Vivitar representative). Other than a webpage describing some of it's features and specs, I can't find a single bit of information on it. I was hoping someone on these forums might. Any info you've got would be great, or if you had information on how I might build myself a battery pack for this lovely thing, that would be greatly appreciated as well. Thanks again!

Hi Alyssa, You can do one of two things. Try and fix it, or just go find another one that works. You can see by the majority of threads (my own)on this forum is getting old cameras to work. According to super8 data its a 6v (4 aa) camera with an exterior input . Go to an electronics shop, they will supply a battery pack and connector.(probably a micro mono plug)Should cost you about $5.00 to find out if it works.( an extra $10.00 you can maybe get a working camera off the net) My link

Cameras are still small money and I suggest look around for a new one that works or a gamble on ebay. If the handle is missing what else has been butchered off it.You wont regret getting a good camera. The results will speak for themselves