Akeelah and the Bee

• Premium Member

We're filming for three days in the auditorium of Venice High School for another spelling bee. This was the first day in there. The ceiling was fairly smooth with nothing to rig from except for some very wide decorative beams of some historical value, so I decided to try lighting balloons, which I've never used before. This is one of four spelling bees in the film and this one is supposed to be fairly evenly lit, high-key, so I couldn't just let the audience be in the dark.

We had two balloons, each 12K total in tungsten globes, so 24K total for the two balloons. I was getting a little over an f/4 under the two of them at 320 ASA. These are the largest ones from the company (whose name I don't remember) and have HMI globes inside as well.

The stage was lit with a bunch of 2K Zips pointed down, plus some PARCAN's pointed at the mic and as backlights. The stage was at an f/5.6 (so one stop brighter than the audience) and the person at the mic was at an f/8.

aatb16.jpg

• Premium Member

For an early scene where the main character walks down the aisle through the audience it was, but once the bee begins, I exposed at f/5.6, one stop under for the audience. This allowed me to use the Primo anamorphic zoom on B-camera (which only opens to f/4.5) to grab various reaction shots of audience members. These are the sorts of scenes where you have to compromise a little to get all the shots; for example, sometimes on A-camera I'm using the Steadicam with a C-Series 60mm and on B-camera I'm on a Primo zoom wide-open much of the time, and I can't do much to fix the lighting on faces other than quickly move a 10K with a big Chimera around, but I'm limited by the permanent seats that are in the way.

Hopefully I'll get to tweak a little more as we do tighter shots over the next two days, but we really have a LOT of shots to get in the can so I'm going to have to let the overhead lighting do a lot of the work.