First post here -- Greetings!

Brian Wells

• Premium Member

Hello everyone,

My name is Brian Wells and I am a resident of Amarillo, Texas. I am 21 years old and am nearing the end of my one year hiatus from school where I was studying to be an English major.

My background related to capturing images has mostly been on various digital mediums (ie - video) and 35mm photography with a Canon SLR. While I have become fairly proficient at tweaking the look of video in the digital world (as nearly everyone else in my generation with a DV cam and a Mac has done) I recognise that I know very about film and I am trying, really, to grow and understand the complexities and palette of tools available to those shooting on film.

Here are the things I am unclear on right now. Please tell me where I am wrong or if I am on the right track related to general characteristics on different film stocks on ASA speeds, cooresponding sensitivity and dynamic range, emulsion characteristics, and more. If able to offer some good, old fashioned advice, please read on. . .

1. Negative Stock vs. Positive Film

My understanding is that negative stock is preferred for the following reasons: It has a preferred aesthetic; better dynamic range (I think also referred as "latitude") from shadows to highlights, and more defined colors over Positive film (I think also referred to as "print stock" or "slide film") and positive film has a different aesthetic (I don't know what that is) reduced latitude (like 5 stops or something) but can be projected immediately without a print, DI, or telecine-then-print.

2. Sensitivity has a direct connection to the amount of grain in a film? Yes or No?

My understanding is that smaller emulsions create tighter grain at the expense of reduced lower light sensitivity and that stocks with larger emulsions, "soak up more light since they're bigger" at the expense of "bigger emulsions means you see them" hence more grain.

3. Shutter angle or shutter speed.