shooting in a men's room with flurescent's

venix

Hi,

I am a student and I am shooting a scene which takes place in a small men's room. Its a scene where a character pulls a gun and fires it at someone to show him that he wont die if its not his time (there is one bullet in the gun) resulting in the other characters emotional awakening or some such.

Here is a picture of the floorplan http://groups.msn.com/locationpictures/sho....msnw?Page=Last

The room is full of fluroscent tubes two over the two stalls. One in the room next to the stalls and two over the urinals, two on the opposite end of the mens room. The director wants to harness the green that some fluro's give off. We are thinking of taking out all the tubes except the two tubes above the two stalls and position the actors side on to the stall's. Then maybe add a really diffused 650 w omni with 1/8 or 1/4 plus green gel on it. The walls have a real nice texture with tight white bricks but the director wants it dark in the upper corners of the room and with green in midtones and shadow but not so much highlights on the actors. All the tubes are cool white tubes and we are going to do tests to make sure they look green but will the added tungsten green cancel out at all any of the green coming of the fluroescent's? I am shooting in Australia so i dont think flicker will be a problem

I want to give the characters dark pools in their eyes and one of them is a large bald african american male in a cream suit, the other is a caucasian male.

We are shooting tests there soon so hopefully il get more of an idea then but any advice is highly appreciated

(Apologies if this post does not make much sense)

• Premium Member

Hi,

What format are you shooting?