Underexpose with filmgamma settings

Wikse

Hi.

I'm new in the scene-file-settings-world, and I'm a bit confused by the different info I get from more experienced scene-files-camera-people. One say that If I want to get the full effect of the Filmgamma setting, I have to underexpose my shots and adjust in post. The other guy says that I do not have to underexpose to get the effect. What is right? Wouldn't it be a lot of detail loss in the black areas if you underexpose and gains it up again in POST? (maybe a black stretch has to be added?)

Is it any difference between exposing by 100% zebra and 80/70%. As I believe - if you expose by 100% and you work with filmgamma, the image WILL get overexposed... And if you expose by 70% (skin tone zebra) it will be close to OK. correct me if I'm wrong - please.

(my camera has no lens at the moment, and the new lens will not arrive until next week... - so I am unable to test out this myself this week)

I'm shooting in PAL 50i.

Thank U :unsure:

• Premium Member
Hi.

I'm new in the scene-file-settings-world, and I'm a bit confused by the different info I get from more experienced scene-files-camera-people.  One say that If I want to get the full effect of the Filmgamma setting, I have to underexpose my shots and adjust in post.  The other guy says that I do not have to underexpose to get the effect.  What is right?  Wouldn't it be a lot of detail loss in the black areas if you underexpose and gains it up again in POST? (maybe a black stretch has to be added?)

Is it any difference between exposing by 100% zebra and 80/70%.  As I believe - if you expose by 100% and you work with filmgamma, the image WILL get overexposed...  And if you expose by 70% (skin tone zebra) it will be close to OK.  correct me if I'm wrong - please.

(my camera has no lens at the moment, and the new lens will not arrive until next week... - so I am unable to test out this myself this week)

I'm shooting in PAL 50i.

Thank U :unsure: