foot-candles/wattage

Louis

this may sound like a really silly question, but I'm still pretty new to all this, and I figured it couldn't hurt to ask: is there a relationship of any kind between the wattage(/amperes/voltage) of a light source and the amount of foot-candles it emits? for instance, if you know your ASA, your shutter speed, and the f-stop you wanna use, is there a way to determine what kind of light (1K, 2K, etc.) would give you a proper exposure? I figure there must be something, but I am not aware of it.

re-reading my question, i need to clarify something: i know that there is a relationship between wattage and foot-candles (obviously the higher the wattage of a light the brighter it is), but i was wondering if there was a specific, mathematical relationship between wattage(/voltage/amperes) and foot-candles, one that would help a DP decide what kind of a light to use to get a proper exposure.

In theory it's not a simple relationship. Watts measures the amount of energy consumed by a lamp.

Not all of that will go into light (in fact for incandescent lamps most of it goes into heat). The total amount of light given out by a point source in all directions is measured in lumens (so the efficiency of the lamp is in lumens per watt). You can also measure the brightness of the lamp in candelas.

Not all of the light will go in the direction that is useful. Putting a lamp in a reflector will increase the brightness (or luminous intensity) for the same number of lumens.

Foot candles measure the intensity with which something is illuminated by the light source. It depends on how close the lamp is to the surface. It's also measured in lumens per square meter (efectively the same thing as foot candles).

There's lots more, but you get the drift. There are many different aspects of light to measure, and there are many factors betwen watts and foot candles.