Problem with my Sankyo em-60xl.

Kelsey Espinoza

Hello, I have a Sankyo em-60xl super 8 camera. I bought this around the end of August and have used it successfully for 4 short projects. about a week ago when I was shooting something for this last project, I turned it off to take a break and when I turned the camera back on, I couldn't see anything through the view finder. There is an open and close switch on the side which I actually haven't touched that in a while, I tried it and nothing happens. When I start it up everything sounds like it's working just fine, I also changed the batteries to make sure it's not just dying on me too, maybe it's just stuck? Does anyone know what's going on and how to fix it and if it matters? It sounds like it's working and I haven't been able to run some film through it to see if anything turned up because I need to use it very soon and can't really wait. I have a backup camera to use just in case, but I like this one better. I'm new to super 8 and I'm still learning about how the cameras work, thank you for any help.

Your camera has got at least two mirrors: a semi-transparent one that sits between lens and film and that "splits" the light so that it goes onto the film and into the viewfinder. And then there's another mirror that redirects the light by 90 degrees so that the viewfinder can be placed at the camera's rear.

I fear that one of these mirrors isn't at the correct position any more.

Of course the light's path to the viewfinder could have "collapsed".

It also sounds that your camera has got a shutter to close the viewfinder (to prevent light falling through the viewfinder onto the film in case you're not looking through the viewfinder while the camera is running). Maybe that shutter is broken and stuck at the "closed" position?

Jörg