First time Bolex user looking for a little help..

Luuk van den Berg

Hi everyone. I recently came across a Bolex Paillard H16 Reflex and I'd like to shoot a short film with it in the near future. I've allready watched some videos about how to use the camera, but there are some things I can't figure out. I don't have any experience with film cameras, but I have been shooting still film a lot (35mm, 120 & 4x5") so I do have some knowledge about film. Since i'm a student and film and processing isn't what you call cheap I'd like to go in fully prepared to minimize the chance of error. If anyone could help me anwser these questions it would be greatly appreciated.

The set:

Bolex Paillard H16 Reflex

Yvar 75mm 2.8

Switar 25mm 1.4 H16 RX

Switar 16mm 1.8 H16 RX

Berthiot Pan-Cinor 17.5-70mm 2.4 + viewing scope (not sure what the correct name for that is)

16-25mm viewfinder for the Switar lenses

I'll just fire away I guess;

About the Switar lenses

FI8R7PO.jpg7TX2pfA.jpg

1. I'd guess these are used in combination with the 16-25mm viewfinder that goes on the side of the Bolex. My question about this is, is the only way to focus these lenses through zonefocussing?

2. Since I have the 17.5-70mm should I even use these lenses?

About the Berthiot Pan-Cinor 17.5-70mm

qXuw5zB.jpg

3. However I try to get the lens on the camera, I cannot seem to get it alligned correctly (see image below) for the viewing scope. Does anyone have an idea why this is, or how I could fix this? I'd prefer to use this lens instead of the 3 primes. Any way I try the lens locks up at the point on the image below.

QFg6qXn.jpg

4. The focusring on the front needs quite a lot of power to turn, is there a safe and easy way to lubricate/ease this motion? And with the viewing scope on, is it optical focussing or do I need to zonefocus this lens?