Film Convert, Vision Color, Osiris

Michael LaVoie

Just got an FS7. Dumb question ahead related to color correction so forgive me. I am new to grading LOG and don't have too much experience with Speed grade or Resolve. I'm a DP, not an editor. I am only grading footage for my own reels and short things I produce myself.

I cut with Premiere CC and I installed Film Convert and the Vision Color Impulz pack of LUTS along with Osiris Cinema LUT's. I watched a few tutorials on how to apply them and so I'm familiar with the basics. But there are some elements I'm confused on.

Can anyone explain the benefits and drawbacks associated with using Film Convert and or the Vision Color LUT's directly in a Premiere timeline vs manual grading a timeline later via Resolve?

I find that I have enough flexibility with Film convert as far as choosing negatives, adjusting exposure levels and color, grain etc. I can stop there and I have a great looking image but I can also get a more polished and finished Hollywood look dropping in an Osiris LUT in an adjustment layer above the timeline which I can change the strength of using opacity. So it would seem that I get a finished look without doing a ton of manual grading.

But I know that there's a lot more to the color correction so if anyone out there can post a more traditional workflow and the general benefits I'd love to know. Color correction is an art and I wouldn't want to insult pro colorists by suggesting that it's easy. I am honestly interested in knowing what degrees of control I'm giving up by using this shorthand method.

I have the Impulz luts but I haven't used them much. They seem slightly trickier to apply as there are various versions of each stock representing different stages of application. Where the Osiris LUTS just pretty much have one version to apply in either LOG or REC709. Simple.