Hi all,

I have a request which may sound a bit stupid- but I'd appreciate

any help.

I'm going to shoot a 16mm/colour music video in future (there's

enough time left).

I already did one one year ago but that one was B/W and after all a

catastrophe since telecining was due to budget problems done at

a "cheap shop" which destroyed a lot of material(not physically-

but for that- I was psychologically destroyed).

Since there wasn't money and time left we also couldn't get the

stuff again telecined.

Well, as you guys can imagine I was pretty paralyzed. There was a lot

doubt whether !I! made the mistake or it was "done" at the telecining

lab.

By now I'm over it since I'm actually a photographer for years and

therefore I think I judged most light situations correctly.

Anyway, I'm going to get a Sekonic 558 Cine and for that I already read

a lot of articles about how to use incident meters correctly (at the first

shot I used an old Spectra).

One thing I recognized was that a lot of people are saying to point

the dome at the camera(what I did at the first video shoot) while

there are also enough people telling to point at the lightsource.

Well, I know that noone can definately say what to do since it always

depends on certain situations and desired effects.

So, my question is whether some of you more experienced cinematographers

may give me some hints or examples how to measure a situation correctly-

maye even a normal portrait shot, with key, fill and kicker for the beginning.

Of course as soon as I get my Sekonic I'll shoot a few rolls of slidefilm

for tests but I though hope to get some help before from more experienced

cameramen(or.. camerawoman)

Thanks in advance,

your truly,

Dan

• Premium Member

Use whatever method gives you the exposure you want, which is something you can test.