Relation DoP-1AC in preproduction

Hi all,

I am a student DoP working for my graduation project. My shooting will come soon and since I never worked in a proper crew before (only for little projects), I m wondering what does the DoP share with the 1Ac before the shooting?

What does he discuss? And what type of preparation he makes with the 1ac? (talk about shots, camera settings, etc.)

Thanks,

Alessandro

You'll be taking care of a lot more creative stuff for the camera department (composition, lighting, t or f stops etc).

But your 1st AC should be taking care of most technical aspects of the camera department.

So talk to them about ISO, shutter, aperture for different shots. Camera movements so they can prepare for focus pulling.

However I've never worked on features (just commercials, shorts and documentaries) so I can't say I've had experience of any feature prep.

It really all depends on what your planning on doing. For example, if you are going to be doing a lot of dolly movements on moving subjects, then you'll need to talk to your 1st AC about focus pulling.

Hope that helps in some way. You should read this article though - kind of similar to what you might be wanting to know: http://www.theblackandblue.com/2014/01/22/what-camera-assistants-dont-do/

• Premium Member