High School Senior Project!

We are two seniors in high school doing a year long senior project. Basically, we get to do whatever we want for two hours a day and colleges like it on our record. The two of us decided to do something related to high school hate crimes/discrimination, as we are sick of racism, sexism and homophobia plaguing our schools. Anyway, I have some experience in filming, as I've filmed some...things...before, but the actual production of a movie is daunting. Where do we start? Logistical problems are confusing. For example, if we want footage from CNN or other news sources, how do we obtain that? Copyright problems? Yeah...if anybody has any advice on where to start, we would greatly appreciate it. Using my interest in film and my partner's interest in art, we want to make a good video. We just don't know how. Thanks in advance, for anyone taking the time to read this and/or respond.

You have a theme, so you?ve already started.

First - ask yourself why? Why do you want to comment on this particular theme. Hate and discrimination are bad. We all get that.

Second - What can you do with your documentary to tell us something we don?t already know? Do you have an interesting take on this subject? Do you know someone who has been injured or damaged? Do you want to tell that persons story, or do you just want to make a general comment?

Next, watch documentaries. Try different themes and different styles. As you watch jot down ideas - anything that pops into your head. Talk to people about your theme - find out what interests them, what they would like to see explored.

Then take all the notes you?ve put together and get to work. Sometimes shooting interviews will dictate where you go next. Sometimes you will have a strong POV you want to prove. If you?re doing a documentary of clips, you?ll need to research news clips.