Exposure: clipping/crushing | Art/Tech aspect + quality control

Daniel Zlobin

Hello everyone,

A bit funny question to ask, considering the fact that I am not new to the job. But it’s also about the pipeline, which is different from country to country, I guess. So would really appreciate the experience exchange, since I just recently moved to North America. 

This year I suddenly found myself extremely self-aware about the clipping in white (but the part of the question goes for blacks as well) and exposure in its technical aspect and it’s bond with artistic needs. 

I studied cinematography in Russia, at the time, when professors had no clear idea on shooting digital, and I was raised in a way, that you shouldn’t clip ever, beside some small spot, super white, like let’s say small patch of reflected light in the rim glasses. Same with blacks - you kind of have to have some information anyway, allowing only very little of absolute darkness in inside the frame. The same goes to TV production, let’s say you are doing a scripted, narrative tv show. You have to control the whites and blacks and never have them clipped or under; let’s say 10 IRE. Even if it’s a window, which supposed to be “burned out” you have to kind of keep it slightly below clipping, so there is at least a bit of information there (at least false color indicated that). Otherwise, if you don’t follow the principles, you get a comment on the dailies from post production team (or “department of technical quality”) next morning; and if you won’t start to be more careful about detail in whites and blacks, you won’t make it till the end of the show.